Sunday, January 8, 2012

Cyril Orcel, Piano Concerto Number 1 - "Patetico"

Cyril Orcel is a composer and musician who was born on born May 18, 1964, in Toulouse and who now lives in Brussels. He has written television and film scores including:

Panda Farnana, un Congolais qui dérange (video documentary)
Ce jour là, tout a changé (TV series)
L'assassinat d'Henri IV: 14 mai 1610
Le prince de ce monde
The Rise of Man, Nightshift
The Curse of Doktor Schnitzel
The Black Flower.

On November 25, 2010, Cyril Orcel's Piano Concerto No. 1 "Patetico" was given its premiere performance by the Brussels Philarmonique Orchestra, conducted by Pierre-Yves Gronier, piano soloist Laurent Wagschal, at the Palais des Beaux Arts de Bruxelles.

If this is the direction of 21st century serious music, please count me in! And may there be a piano concerto #2 and #3 and more from Cyril Orcel in due time.

You may hear the concert at the following links:

Movement One

Movement Two

Movement Three

No comments: